Gallery

Ivan Vasconcellos

  • Ivan Vaconcellos is a contemporary dancer, choreographer, dance educator, and ethnologist deeply rooted in his afrobrasilian culture. After his education in the Escola do Teatro Municipal - INEART in Rio de Janeiro under the supervision of Lygia Costallá and the instructors Edmundo Carijó (Ballet), Lourdes Bastos (Modern), Mercedes Batista (Afrobrasilian Dance), and C. Morgan (Ethnic Dance) he studied in the Mudra School in Brussels, mainly with M. Béjart, in whose company he also danced.

    The most important teachers for him at the Mudra School were Germaine Acogny (African Dance), Ray Phillips (Modern Dance), Jorge Lefebre (Classical Dance), and Doudou Ndiarfe Rose (Rhythm).
  • Later he acted in Switzerland and Germany and danced in the most important companies and with the most important choreographers. In addition he studied ethnology at the ETH Zurich and at the University of Lagos, Nigeria.

Foto: Freimut Koch
  • With support by the cultural departments of the cities of Düsseldorf and Stuttgart as well as by the "Präsidialabteilung Kultur" of the city of Zurich, numerous dance theatre productions were realised under his supervision.
  • He is lecturer for Candomblé, Afrobrazil Dance, and Samba at the University of Zurich (ETH-ASVZ) and at the Sports University of Basel. He presents lectures on the topic "Candomblé - Dance and Music of the Gods" in various cultural areas, for instance at the exhibition about the work of Pierre Verger "Black Gods in Exile" at the "Völkerkunde Museum" (Ethnological Museum) in Munich.
  • Ivan Vasconcellos is a former lecturer for afro-brasilian culture with the K.I.D.S. project of Munich.


Photo: F. Koch, © Tanzbrasil

  • He is guest instructor with the German Professional Union for Dance Education (Berufsverband für Tanzpädagogik), among others in the frame of educational seminars of the John Neumeier Ballet Center Hamburg, and with the Funceb - Universidade da Bahia / Salvador.
    Ivan is working as an instructor with important international dance workshops, to name a few: International Easter- and Summer Workshop at the "Tanzfabrik" Berlin, International Dancing Festival Bolzano, Italy or the VII Biennale of Contemporary Dance in Poznan, Poland.
  • He is also present at a variety of Samba Festivals throughout Europe, as for example the Sambasyndrom Berlin or the Festival in Coburg.


Press Review

  3SAT "Tips und Trends" (in Tanzbrasil archive)
  Dolomiten, Bozen (JPG, 90 kB)
  Süddeutsche Zeitung (JPG, 125 kB)
  Tanzjournal (PDF, 106 kB)
  Merkur München (PDF, 288 kB)

  • Ivan Vasconcellos is an active member of the legendary "Bloco Filhos de Gandhy" and of "Malê de Balê", both in Salvador de Bahia. He was also instructor and choreographer in the "GRES Beija-Flor de Nilopolis", one of the most important Samba schools in Rio de Janeiro, which often won the Carnival there.
  • As a Carnevalesco, the art director for the visual arrangement of Samba processions, he participated for example in the Longstreet carnival in Zurich, in the "Züri-Fest" and in the "Karneval der Kulturen" (Carnival of Cultures) in Berlin. In the latter he was invited by the group "Sapucaiu no Samba" as a Carnevalesco and choreographer. With the topic "Froschkönig" (Frog King) the Samba school won the first prize of the procession.
  • Ivan Vasconcellos is a member of SEG - "Schweizerische Ethnologische Gesellschaft" (The SWISS Ethnological Society) as well as founder and director of "Tanzbrasil - Workshops and Performance" in Munich.


Foto: Freimut Koch


Sitemap Tour 2009

Galerie 1         Galerie 2

Ivan Vasconcellos

Ivan Vasconcellos ist Tänzer, Choreograf, Tanzpädagoge und Ethnologe. Er ist Dozent bei der Otto Falckenbergschule/Kammerspiele und Gründer und Leiter von "Tanzbrasil Workshops und Performance" München.

  • Ivan Vasconcellos ist zeitgenössischer Tänzer, Choreograph, Tanzpädagoge und Ethnologe und tief verwurzelt in seiner afrobrasilianischen Kultur. Nach seiner Ausbildung in der Escola do Teatro Municipal - INEART in Rio de Janeiro unter der Leitung von Lygia Costallá und den Dozenten Edmundo Carijó (Ballett), Lourdes Bastos (Modern), Mercedes Batista (Afrobrasilianischer Tanz) und C. Morgan (Ethnischer Tanz), studierte er in Brüssel an der Mudra Schule, vor allem bei M. Béjart, in dessen Kompanie er auch tanzte.

    Besonders wichtige Lehrer an der Mudra Schule waren für ihn Germaine Acogny (Afrikanischer Tanz), Ray Phillips (Modern Dance), Jorge Lefebre (Klassischer Tanz) und Doudou Ndiarfe Rose (Rhythmus).

    Ausserdem studierte er in Zürich an der Ballettakademie unter der Leitung von Herta Bamert und unterrichtete dort Afrobrasil Tanz.

  • Später wirkte er in der Schweiz und in Deutschland und tanzte in den wichtigsten Kompanien und bei den wichtigsten Choreographen. Außerdem studierte er Ethnologie an der ETH Zürich und der Universität Lagos, Nigeria.

Foto: Freimut Koch

  • Mit Förderungen durch die Kulturämter der Städte Düsseldorf und Stuttgart und der Präsidialabteilung Kultur der Stadt Zürich wurden zahlreiche Tanztheater-Produktionen unter seiner Leitung verwirklicht (z.B. die Kompanie "Raça Brasil").
  • An der Universität Zürich (ETH-ASVZ) und der Sportuniversität Basel ist er Dozent für Candomblé, Afrobrasiltanz und Samba. Vorträge zum Thema Candomblé - Tanz und Musik der Götter hält er in verschiedenen Kulturkreisen, z.B. bei der Austellung über Werk von Pierre Verger "Schwarze Götter im Exil" am Völkerkundemuseum München.
  • Ivan Vasconcellos ist ehemaliger Dozent für Afro-brasilianische Kultur beim K.I.D.S.-Projekt der Landeshauptstadt München.


Foto: F. Koch, © Tanzbrasil

  • Er ist Gastdozent beim Deutschen Berufsverband für Tanzpädagogik u.a. im Rahmen der pädagogischen Seminare des John Neumeier Ballett-Zentrums Hamburg und bei der Funceb - Universidade da Bahia / Salvador.
    Bei bedeutenden Internationalen Tanzworkshops ist Ivan als Lehrer tätig, nur zu nennen: Internationaler Tanzworkshop an der Tanzfabrik Berlin, Internationales Tanzfestival Bozen / Italien, Biennale of Contemporary Dance in Poznan / Polen oder der Sommerakademie Wien auf Zakynthos / Griechenland.
  • Ebenso ist er präsent bei diversen Samba-Festivals in Europa, wie z.B. dem Sambasyndrom Berlin und Festival in Coburg und auch dem Streetlife Festival in München.


Pressespiegel

  3SAT "Tips und Trends" (im Tanzbrasil-Archiv)
  Dolomiten, Bozen (JPG, 90 kB)
  Süddeutsche Zeitung (JPG, 125 kB)
  Tanzjournal (PDF, 106 kB)
  Do Brasil (PDF, 355 kB)
  Merkur München (PDF, 288 kB)

  • Ivan Vasconcellos ist aktives Mitglied des legendären "Bloco Filhos de Gandhy", "Cortejo Afro" und von "Malê de Balê" in Salvador da Bahia. Er war auch Trainer und Choreograph in der "GRES Beija-Flor de Nilopolis", einer der wichtigsten Sambaschulen in Rio de Janeiro, die oftmals den dortigen Karneval gewinnen konnte.
  • Als Carnevalesco, dem künstlerischen Leiter für die visuelle Gestaltung von Samba-Umzügen, beteiligte er sich z.B. am Longstreet-Karneval in Zürich, beim Züri-Fest und beim Karneval der Kulturen in Berlin. Dort wurde er von der Gruppe "Sapucaiu no Samba" als Carnevalesco und Choreograph eingeladen, mit dem Thema "Froschkönig" gewann die Sambaschule den ersten Preis des Umzuges.
  • Ivan Vasconcellos ist Mitglied der SEG - "Schweizerische Ethnologische Gesellschaft", Gastdozent bei der Otto Falckenbergschule/Kammerspiele in München und Gründer und Leiter von "Tanzbrasil Workshops und Performance" München.


Foto: Freimut Koch


Sitemap Reise